The ABCs of Erotica

Wax Crayons In Primary ColoursAn odd title for a blog post, I know.  But follow me here.  I promise it will make sense.  You see I’ve been writing for a long time.  I actually started right after my daughter was born and she turned 10 in June this year.

Now over those ten years I’ve had more than my fair share of ups and downs.  Much of it self-induced, some of it not.  Many times real world problems invaded my writing and sent my muse scurrying for cover.  Other times the contrary bitch simply decided not to cooperate, leaving me with writers block at the most inopportune times.

If you’re reading this post and you’re an author then you know how frustrating it can be to fight writers block.  It seems like the harder you try to get the creative juices flowing, the deeper the muse goes into hiding.

Over the years I’ve tried several methods, some completely unconventional , some not so much.  What I’ve discovered is that you must do the opposite of your instincts in order to get the creative juices flowing again.

You see, the best way (at least for me) to combat writers block, is simply to walk away and do something else.  While I’ve heard that reading works for some, as it can generate new ideas, I’ve also heard that starting a new story or performing writing exercises works.  Personally, I choose to do non-writing activities.  Since I’ve always been a bit artistic, I turn to my other creative talents.  I create book covers for myself and other authors.  I sketch whatever I feel like and when all else fails I break out the crayons and my favorite coloring book.  That’s right…I…a full grown adult can spend hours coloring.

While it might seem childish to some, I find the act of coloring to be a relaxing and cathartic experience that goes a long way in the process of rebooting my brain and bringing that nasty little muse out of hiding.  Thankfully, I haven’t needed to break out my writer’s block busting tools as of late, but I did buy a new box of crayons today.  Not that I’m expecting to run into problems.  I just decided I wanted to color and let’s face it.  There is something about opening a brand new box of Crayola crayons and pulling out that first crayon to use.

So what do you do to combat writers block?

Oh and before I forget…I’d like to take a moment to thank Malia for allowing me to hijack her blog for a day.

michelle cary sig

Check out my latest story entitled ‘Leap of Faith’ available September 10th at Loose-id.

leap of faithContent with her life as Ultimate Extreme Wrestling Vixen. Lexi Blackwell isn’t looking for love.  Considered a legacy in the business because of her legendary father, she’d well respected and liked by many.  She has only one focus and that’s her career. Years ago she fell in love with a fellow UEW supers star only to suffer a lot more than just a broken heart.  Unable to completely cover from the hurt, Lexi swore never to travel down that path again.

Professional wrestler Logan Lanier is a rising star in the company. He’s spent years working to reach the top and excels at everything he does.  Once in the big leagues Logan quickly realizes just how lonely the existence can be.  Feeling a connection with Lexi, he sets his sights and his heart on the pretty little vixen.  He knows she’s been burned before and is determined to do whatever it takes to prove that not all men (or wrestlers) are created equal.

Can Logan win her trust and ultimately her love, or will the cruel hand of fate strike again?

AVAILABLE  SEPTEMBER 10TH @ Loose-id

Check out Michelle’s Facebook page and website for information on her books, contests and much more.

Comments on: "Break Out the Crayons with Michelle Cary – New Release Leap of Faith" (1)

  1. For me, taking a shower and walking helps to generate ideas. I also find that the more I write, the more ideas I get. Congrats on your upcoming Loose Id release!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

