The ABCs of Erotica

kandycanekinkWelcome blog hoppers! Join me and numerous other authors and bloggers as we celebrate candy canes … and kink! Thank you to our hosts Close Encounters with the Night Kind and Natasha Blackthorne.

All commenters on my blog will be entered for a $5 Amazon.com gift card – don’t forget to include your email!

Want a free copy of B is for Beach from The ABCs of Erotica? Sign up for my mailing list here.

Visit all the other wonderful sites participating in the hop by clicking below!

*****

A Sensual History of the Christmas Holiday

Not so long ago, Christmas was a far cry from the child-centric, family holiday that is celebrated today. We know Christmas was superimposed over any number of already existing holidays. However, it also picked up many of the celebratory traditions associated with these other holidays as well, including a proclivity for sensual exploits.

One of these celebrations was Yuletide, which was celebrated around the winter solstice among Scandinavians and Germanic peoples. This was a rather pagan festival with traditions like burning the yule log, feasting on meat and partaking of drink. The combination of alcohol and forced interior revelry due to the weather led, no doubt, to some lascivious behaviors.

The Romans partook of Saturnalia. In honor of the god Saturn, Romans would give gifts and party. It was also a time of relaxation of the normal stratification of society with the lines between master and slave becoming blurred during this period of celebration. Undoubtedly, this presented opportunities for relaxation of all types of social mores.

During the Middle Ages, Christmas commonly featured feasting, dancing and gambling. As you can imagine, this led to some sexually oriented behaviors as well. Eventually the carnival atmosphere of Christmas was so out of control that Puritans in England banned it.  However, many didn’t go along with this and there continued to be a boom in conceptions at the Christmas holiday.

Eventually by the end of the Victorian period, Christmas became completely transformed into the family-oriented holiday we know today, complete with the Christmas tree.

In the spirit of Christmases past, make your Christmas this year a sensual one. Smell the wonderful aromas of evergreen, eat tasty holiday treats and snuggle up with your loved ones in front of a roaring fire. Happy Holidays!

How do you like to celebrate the holiday?

*****

Here is my kinky contribution – Santa’s Backdoor Baby.santababy200300

Holly is home from college for the holidays and working as Santa’s elf at the local mall. She’s embraced her intensely blossoming sexuality and is looking for adventure. When fellow elf Jack asks Holly to have dinner with him and she agrees, the sparks are flying already. After dinner, it’s time for dessert!

Co-worker Nick plays Santa and as he gets to know Holly, Santa wants to play, too. After seeing Holly and Jack together, he just can’t resist taking her for himself. Nick makes Holly realize she has a new passion for backdoor play. In the end, Holly entices both Santa and the elf and finds a very hot way to please them both—at the same time!

The full story is available for sample or purchase at the links below – just click!

Comments on: "A Sensual History of the Christmas Holiday for the Candy Cane Kink Giveaway H0p" (41)

  1. Spending time with family

    Happy Holidays
    BeckeyWhiteATgmailDOTcom

  2. Together with my family, friends 🙂
    swordlily_girl[at]yahoo[dot]com

  3. I spend the holidays with family and friends. And by myself curled up with an awesome book. Happy Holidays.

    bmack31919(at)yahoo(dot)com

  4. thank you for the awesome blog hop and wonderful giveaway

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  5. julie beasley said:

    its going to be a quiet xmas this year, just my adult daughter and an ill husband

  6. Thank you for hopping with us. Happy Holidays. 🙂

  7. Crystal Young said:

    Spending it with family
    thanks for the chance to win
    Merry Christamas
    crystaley73 at yahoo dot com

  8. It usally means food to mean me with a big Christmas meal.

    strive4bst(At) yahoo(Dot) com

  9. Tammy Turner said:

    Being able to see people that you dont always get a chance to see during the year.

    angelheart618@gmail.com

  10. Spending some nice quiet time with the husband
    Happy Holidays.
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

  11. Diane Sallans said:

    I just like to spend time with family, prepare meals together, play some games, watch some movies.
    sallans d at yahoo dot com

  12. Sassy Chassy said:

    With lots and lots of family!

    Sassychassy333 at gmail dot com

  13. With my family, we have a big dinner and open presents.
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  14. I spend the holidays with my family:)
    Happy Holidays!
    ajcraig77@comcast.net

  15. I’m a cookie eater. I love cookies; the fresher the better. What’s not to love about all the warm, gooey, chocolatey deliciousness?
    planterofhope at aol dot com

  16. Cassandra Hicks said:

    I love to spend the holidays surrounded by my loved ones 🙂
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!
    cassandrahicks1989@yahoo.com

  17. michael outen said:

    Nothing better than a romantic holiday at a cabin with a fireplace and Christmas tree and someone to snuggle.

  18. Merry Christmas! Thanks so much for participating in the hop!
    Juliana
    Oceanakers @ aol.com

  19. I love spending time with my kids, this will be a tough year..

    Merry Christmas !
    ~Kym
    flwrs4ever(at)yahoo(dot)com

  20. I like staying home and watching Christmas movies. Almost every Christmas I’m on the road to other family’s home. I want to be home. Enjoyed your blog.
    roya-clan@sbcglobal.net

  21. Family and friends, lights,food, fireplace and , hopefully, snow
    Happy Holidays!

    cmucha319@yahoo.com

  22. At home – with my immediate fam 🙂

    Deliachic3@hotmail.com

  23. I like spending time with my family 🙂
    Thanks for the great giveaway!!
    Ashley A
    ash_app@hotmail.com

  24. I like being with my family.

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

  25. I like making cookies and candy with my family!

    Thanks for participating in the hop!

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year (or whatever Holidays you celebrate between now and then).

    theresa.esterline@gmail.com

  26. I would like to celebrate curled up in front of a fire at home in my pajamas reading but being with the family I don’t get to see the rest of the year isn’t so bad either. I especially love seeing the little ones and how much they have grown.

    Thanks so much for being a part of not one, but THREE hops!, and Happy Holidays.

    Marlena
    charmedpoms(at)yahoo(dot)com

  27. just with immediate family – Happy Holidays and thanks for the giveaway! – regnod(at)yahoo(d0t)com

  28. Jeannie Platt said:

    I like to celebrate with family and friends… Relax with my boys and hubby and just enjoy the family time.

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

  29. Spend time with the family which involves food.
    bituin76 at hotmail dot com

  30. jennifer mathis said:

    i celebrate at home with family here
    meandi09@yahoo.com

  31. Just with my family.

    Thank you for the chance!

    spamscape [at] gmail [dot] com

  32. Thanks for the great hop.

  33. I celebrate by getting together with family and friends 🙂 Happy Holidays!
    laceyblossom1(at)gmail(dot)com

  34. Thanks for the giveaway!

    jessicamariesutton(at)msn(dot)com

  35. Great hop & awesome giveaway! Thank you!! Happy holidays to you all! Best wishes and many blessings!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  36. I like to spend the holiday with my family then snuggle up with a good book!
    I love doing hops cause I find so many awesome books and new authors to stalk!! Merry Book-mas to me! Merry Kink-mas to one and all!

    grapeapril75(AT)gmail.com

  37. Happy Holidays,thanks for the awesome giveaway.

    dragonkeep62(at)gmail(dot)com

  38. kimberly holgate said:

    we stay at our house and open presents and eat lots of food and goodies relaxing in each others company. but that gambling and debotchery thing sounds good to
    kaholgate at ymail dot com

  39. like to celebrate with family
    Happy holidays!

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  40. Spending time with my family.
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

  41. I would love to spend the holiday wrapped around my man, but I don’t have one, so I’ll settle for spending time with my oldest brother & his family.

    drainbamaged.gyzmo at gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

