The ABCs of Erotica

Welcome to the Angels vs. Demons Blog Hop!

Many thanks to our hostesses Carrie Ann Ryan and Leia Shaw.

Over 100 authors are participating with prizes. The grand prizes are a Kindle Touch and a $60 gift certificate. Just comment to be entered!

All commenters on my blog will receive a FREE ebook! Don’t forget to include your email address.

If you’d like a free sample of my work, just join my mailing list and I’ll email you a copy of B is for Beach from The ABCs of Erotica.

Keep reading below for an excerpt from my work in progress, Clockwork Caning, a steampunk erotica novella.

*****

What Kind of Hero Do You Prefer – Angel or Demon?

Lately, readers have a wide array of choices when it comes to romance and erotica sub-genres. Every flavor of paranormal romance from werewolves to vampires and angels to demons is available. In fact, there are so many entertaining and well-written stories, it’s hard to choose.

Since our blog hop addresses angels and demons, let’s narrow our focus to those archetypes. A demon would seem to be the classic bad boy alpha male. Bad boys can be very enticing, as they tend to have strong personalities and a lot of attitude.

On the flipside is our angel. Like any other hero, he has inner strength. He is characterized by his code of honor and his actions.

These are just two possible interpretations. What would you choose – angel or demon? What would be his defining characteristic?

*****

Please hop around and visit the other blogs. Every comment is a chance to win! Just click the picture below.


Excerpt from WIP – Clockwork Caning (unedited)

Nigel’s fingers moved to her coiffure and he began to remove her hairpins one by one, dropping them on the cushion. Soon her hair tumbled down in thick waves over her shoulders and back.

Nigel’s thumbs trailed lightly over Eloise’s cheekbones. “You are so very lovely.” He cupped her jaw in his hand and leaned in. This time when his lips met hers, Eloise was prepared for the jolt. She opened her lips and invited him inside. Nigel accepted the invitation and plunged his tongue deep in her mouth.

Eloise moaned. The feelings that Nigel was inciting in her body were new and unfamiliar but not unwelcome. Why had no one told her? She could only suspect that this knowledge, if freely available, would lead even more couples to anticipate their marriage vows. If she had known before that Nigel could make her feel like this, she surely could not have resisted the temptation.

Nigel pulled back and Eloise protested with a sound of distress. “Don’t worry, my dear, I simply want to introduce you to another delight.”

*****

Released stories are available for sample or purchase at the links below – just click!

Comments on: "Malia Mallory Asks What Kind of Hero Do You Prefer? Angels vs. Demons Bloghop – Comment for a Kindle and More #AvDHop" (41)

  1. Demon and characteristic would be do anything to protect his lover

    bmack31919@yahoo.com

  2. room for both in my bed 😉 thanks for participating in the hop!!!

  3. Tracey D said:

    Demons, please. I love me some bad boys!! LOL

    Thanks,
    Tracey D
    booklover0226 at gmail dot com

  4. I love bad boys, but angels can be naughty too. I would take both!
    molly(dot)frenzel(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. Anne M. said:

    Demon because he would be more adaptable than an angel and accept me as is.

    acm05atjuno.com

  6. Andie Wardlow said:

    Demons are also wicked sexy!!! Team Wicked Sexxxy!!!!
    andieleah78@gmail.com

  7. Demons are my favorite. Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  8. Angels!

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  9. I Love Both Angels And Demons Kool Hop I Love It. butterfli262002@yahoo.com

    April Alvey

  10. sionedkla said:

    Demon for me (or fallen angel). Protectiveness/passion. I like my males to be all growly alpha 😉

    sionedkla@gmail.com

  11. Demons definitely!
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  12. Demon’s because deep down inside there is a soft spot mainly for their lady but still 🙂 but I love the sarcastic nature of them and plus they are just so sexy.

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

  13. why choose one when you can have Angels & Demons.
    roseannh95@gmail(dot)com

  14. Lacey T said:

    Definitely love demons!
    laceyblossom1(at)gmail(dot)com

  15. Penumbra said:

    Angels 🙂

    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

  16. Shanna Roberson said:

    I love my bad boys! Team demon here:)
    taghairmpyxi(at)aol(dot)com

  17. How about fallen angels? You get a little of both worlds.
    koonie2888 at yahoo dot com

  18. Carin W said:

    As far as angels vs demons, who doesn’t love a bad boy? Demons baby! mawmom@gmail.com

  19. I want both!! Give me an Angel and Demon. Mix some of the nice with the naughty! MM MMM!!
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  20. JoAnna B said:

    I want both!

    beckerjo at verizon dot net

  21. I prefer demon! P.S. I really love steampunk so I can’t wait for your novel!

    Thank you for participating in the hop!

    Tabatha Hansen
    mmparanormalromance@gmail.com
    mmparanormalromance.wordpress.com

  22. Christine M said:

    I love bad boy/warrior angels.
    isabelli3619 (at) aol (dot) com

  23. Susan W. said:

    I like your interpretation of demons and angels. i can’t choose between them!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

  24. Emily D said:

    Angels! Definitely! Thanks for participating in the hop! emily joy drake at gmail dot com

  25. Vanessa N. said:

    Team demon. I like that he would do anything to protect what he cares about by whatever means necessary.

    mythic021@gmail.com

  26. I actually would prefer something different. I like seeing the different aspects and perspectives on both “species” In folklore, not all demons are evil. And in some depictions, not all angels have compassion for humans just compassion for what they are told to do. That is what interests me more. If there was a novel with a demon that didn’t act hard and mean and turn soft that is different. Or a mean angel who has problems admitting he likes or loves a human. Those are the kinds of novels that really perk me up to read it. So I can’t choose between the two but I do like different variations of them in romance because it’s stimulating. It’s not predictable.

  27. I actually would prefer something different. I like seeing the different aspects and perspectives on both “species” In folklore, not all demons are evil. And in some depictions, not all angels have compassion for humans just compassion for what they are told to do. That is what interests me more. If there was a novel with a demon that didn’t act hard and mean and turn soft that is different. Or a mean angel who has problems admitting he likes or loves a human. Those are the kinds of novels that really perk me up to read it. So I can’t choose between the two but I do like different variations of them in romance because it’s stimulating. It’s not predictable.

    Thaigherlillie@yahoo.com

  28. Sherry S. said:

    I love a bad boy so give me a hot sexy Demon.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  29. June M. said:

    Love demons. But I would want him to be good deep down inside 🙂
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

  30. BookAttict said:

    Demons are the ultimate bad boys, and I have a major “thing” for bad boys, so I’m definitely Team Demon! His defining characteristic would be — he’d be damaged, but ultimately redeemable!

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  31. Lisa Hackeny said:

    I would have to be greedy and have them both! I would have to go with a male demon and a female angel though… got to have my cake and eat it too!
    Lisa Hackney
    yankssssrule08(at)yahoo(dot)com

  32. Stephanie Huff said:

    I like them both, but I prefer demons, especially those with a bit of a soft side. I particularly like Al from Kim Harrison’s Hallows series

    snhoveln@gmail.com

    Thanks!

  33. livrancourt said:

    Cool excerpt. I’m in a steampunk phase myself.
    And as for the vote, gotta go with demons.
    😉

  34. I like angels, but I prefer demons. The main characteristic of my perfect demon would be protective of the one he has fallen for because he knows that if he lost her that would be worse than going back to hell.

    jmesparza821(at)gmail(dot)com

  35. Fallen Angels! Okay, maybe demons. I love bad boys! 😀 Thank you for the awesome giveaway!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  36. Denise Z said:

    Today I am choosing angels for their strength and protection 🙂 Thank you for the fun.
    dz59001[at]gmail[dot]com

  37. Kristina H said:

    How about an angel with a bad boy attitude? Best of both worlds! 😀 Great excerpt!

    kristinaleigh1@hotmail.com

  38. angels

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  39. how can I choose? both have characteristics I like. The Demon/bad boy is a fantasy for me and was almost always the hero I went for, but after reading some books with Angels, I kind of am torn. I have an insane crush on Carter, the Angel from Richelle Mead’s Succubus series. HUGELY INSANE!
    Lisa
    lasergirl70@hotmail.com

  40. Angels…because they’re something that can be corrupted – what a challenge!

    MangusFitzpatrick@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

