The ABCs of Erotica

Thanks, Malia, for having me here at your blog today.  As I was thinking of a topic for this post, I was just finishing up a discussion with a reader about Alpha males in which she’d asked me why I love them so much as an author and a reader. The answer to that question is simple:  They’re exciting men.  Alpha males control the situation, dominate the stage, and take care of business.  This is what makes them Alpha.

Growing up, I loved the James Bond movies.  My father would take me to see every one as it came out.  Now as I look back, I chuckle at the idea that I probably wasn’t old enough to watch films like that, but I wasn’t focusing on the sex at the time.  To me, those movies were terrific entertainment because James Bond was such a great character.  In the middle of the worst crisis, he seemed to always have time to charm everyone around him and have a drink—shaken, not stirred.

Bond has always been an Alpha.  Well, except for those movies in the early 90s where they wanted him to be politically correct.  Then he was just a frustrated cool guy.  Not Alpha really.

I was watching X-Men First Class the other day and although I guess I should have seen this before, I realized Magneto is an Alpha.  I was probably thrown off by the fact that he’s usually an old man I can’t help remembering as Gandolf.  I love Ian McKellen, but I’ve never looked at him the way I do most Alphas.  But in First Class, he’s a younger man played by Michael Fassbender, and he’s very much Alpha.

The Alpha male is larger than life, so to be drawn to him is no surprise.  In a variety of ways, all the heroes in my Sons of Navarus series are Alphas.  In Blood Avenged, the first book of the series, Vasilije is quintessential Alpha sexuality.  He’s a hedonist who sees the world as his playground.  As I told a reader the other day, just because he has a HEA at the end of Blood Avenged doesn’t mean he’s changed.  He’s still Alpha; now, he’s just a hedonist devoted to one woman and her pleasure. But his Alpha-ness is still there.

In the second book, Blood Betrayed, readers meet a different Alpha—Saint.  He’s different than Vasilije in that he’s deeper and earthier.  Saint feels things that Vasilije would never even consider, but he’s not an emotional creature as much as a sensual one.  And unlike his predecessor in the series, Saint is very much a male who is all about physical strength.  He exudes power.  That’s what makes him a true Alpha.

I write the kind of men I find attractive.  That’s why my heroes are Alphas.  What woman wouldn’t want a man who can fight off an attacker and then take care of business in the way only a confident, powerful man can?  It’s the stuff of erotic romance, pure and simple.

If you like Alpha male vampires, take a look at Blood Avenged and Blood Betrayed at my website at http://www.gabriellebisset.com/the-sons-of-navarus-series.html You can even read the entire first chapter of Blood Betrayed!

Links:

Website       Blog         Facebook       Twitter        Amazon Author Page
Like the Sons of Navarus Facebook Page

Comments on: "Gabrielle Bisset Shares “Why I Write Alpha Males”" (4)

  1. Thanks for having me here today, Malia!

  2. Nicole Garcia said:

    Anybody who wants to help spread the word about Gabrielle’s books can join our street team. If you or anyone else would like to join please leave us an email at gabriellesstreetteam@gmail.com. Or you can reach me on Facebook under Nicole Garcia or Gabrielle Bisset Street Team page. Please join we would love to have you!

  3. julie beasley said:

    gabrielle, gives us ladies what we want to read in a book lots of sexy heroes at their best. with 8 of them there will be a hero for all of us. i cant wait to meet all the different types of heroes, then we will be saying oh hes the best, no he is. we wont be stuck for choice. i wish her lots of luck with the series

  4. Alpha males are appealing outside of erotica as well. Urban fantasy has quite a few. I wonder if they’re the latest trend or more of an universal appeal, like an archetype.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

