The ABCs of Erotica

I’m thrilled today to host Carrie Ann Ryan on my blog. She is the author of A Taste for a Mate and has brought us some interesting thoughts on being an avid reader.  One lucky commenter will receive a signed bookmark! Stay tuned below for an excerpt.

***

Are You an Avid Reader?

             Are you? I am. Disturbingly so. But what is an avid reader? Someone who reads 1 book a week? 10 books a week?

            Does it matter?

            In 2011, I read 1003 books. O_o I have no idea how I did it. I’m actually quite scared. LOL. So far this year, according to Goodreads, I’ve read 57. I also have no idea how I’ve read that many.

            I mean, I have a job. Two jobs actually. I’m a teacher and I write. I have a husband and two cats that take up time. I have a home to take care of.

            And apparently I read.

            Fast.

            And I’m okay with that.

            But that doesn’t mean everyone reads that much. And that doesn’t mean that if you don’t you aren’t an avid reader. (were there enough negatives in that sentence? LOL)

            I love opening a book (or downloading one) and finding a new world. I love meeting new characters and watching them fall in love. I love reading about things being blown up, mysteries being solved, rabbit holes sucking little blonde girls up. Well that sounds odd. LOL

            But that’s a new world.

            One that I love.

            And that’s why I write as well. In A Taste for a Mate, I found a new world with Jasper and Willow. I got to read about them as I wrote them. I guess that does make me an avid reader LOL.

            Who are your favorite authors? Do you call yourself an avid reader? How many books have you read this year?

***

A Taste for a Mate

Jasper Jamenson’s only responsibility to being the Beta of the Redwood Pack, second son of the Alpha, is to protect the Pack from themselves and the human world. After a century of selfless service, his brother’s new found mating forced him into taking a good look into his life. He isn’t sure he wants a mate, but fate may have other ideas.

Willow Delton is a skinny, bakery owner – the type most woman love to hate. Being without family, she finds herself alone to the Greek god with green eyes who saunters into her bakery every morning. Her desire to follow him, to be with him, overrides every rational sense she possessed.

Jasper and Willow are drawn together, despite every nuisance that works against them. But evil beyond even Jasper’s supernatural compensation will make war against him, by going after the only thing in his eternal life he desires – Willow. Is Willow’s heart enough to overcome Jasper’s soul to save her life? A fight he cannot win, but to save her life – he must.

***

A Taste for a Mate Excerpt

She stood back and closed her eyes, conjuring the memory of her mystery man’s face. The image that filled her mind made her forget the lack of human contact. The thought of his deep, husky voice tickled her spine whenever he spoke. Green eyes caught her in his web with only a glance. She had fallen for a stranger and didn’t even know his name. He would come into her store every morning and order a cinnamon roll and coffee with only a few words. Then he would pay cash before lifting up the corner of his mouth in a semblance of a smile and walked out of her store. Was it strange she worried he’d keep walking and never return?

A bell’s tinkle pulled Willow from her reverie and self-pity. As she turned to greet her customer, her heart leapt to her throat. Him. Her mysterious fantasy. As she tried to regain her senses, she took all of him in. He had to be one of the tallest men she’d ever seen, easily over six and a half feet. The tight black T-shirt he wore hugged his biceps and cut into his muscular physique, while his broad shoulders stretched and strained the seams. His body tapered down to a narrow waist and hips as they met his thighs. His long legs were encased in worn jeans leading to work boots. Hmm, construction perhaps? She glanced back up his body to his striking face. He wasn’t beautiful, but he did have a face women dreamed about. A strong jaw and cheekbones gave him an aura of strength and protection. Hair was midnight black and long enough to brush his shoulders. However, today, a band held it back, showcasing his face more. He studied her, his green eyes calm and calculating. Willow let out a surprised gasp at the sexual heat radiating from him. Could she possibly be imagining things?

***

Carrie Ann Ryan is a paranormal and contemporary romance author. After spending too much time behind a lab bench, she decided to dive into the romance world and find her werewolf mate – even if its just in her books. Happy endings are always near – even if you have to get over the challenges of falling in love first.

Her first book, An Alpha’s Path, is the first in her Redwood Pack series. She’s also an avid reader and lover of romance and fiction novels. She love meeting new authors and new worlds. Any recommendations you have are appreciated. Carrie Ann lives in New England with her husband and two kittens.

Carrie Ann loves hearing from readers. You can find her at:

Website

Blog

Facebook Author Page

Facebook Friend

Goodreads

Twitter: @CarrieAnnRyan

An Alpha’s Path

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Alphas-Path-Redwood-Pack-ebook/dp/B006GHBSA2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1326396851&sr=8-1

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/an-alphas-path-carrie-ann-ryan/1107828923

A Taste for a Mate

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Taste-Mate-Redwood-Pack-ebook/dp/B0073WA12K/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1328133523&sr=8-1

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1108508709?ean=2940014077125&itm=1&usri=a+taste+for+a+mate

Comments on: "Carrie Ann Ryan Asks Are You an Avid Reader? + Excerpt from A Taste for a Mate" (14)

  1. Jennifer Lowery~Author said:

    I wish I read more books than I actually did last year!! This year I plan on reading many more. Great post!

  2. Thanks for coming Jennifer and thanks for having me Malia.

    And FYI, as of today I’ve read 102 books. Yeah, I’ve been busy since I wrote this post LOL.

  3. Cristina C. said:

    Wonderful excerpt. 🙂 Talking about this reminds me that I need to update my book list on Goodreads. LOL I read a lot but, I’m also a speed reader. My brother said it’s not a good sign that I have physical books and two e-reader’s. I figure it’s better than some addictions. 😉

    menina.iscrazy @ yahoo.com

  4. Wow, I can’t believe how many books you’ve read. I love to read but not that much, lol.
    I have Taste For A Mate and I will begin reading it later tonight! Thank you, Carrie!

  5. Love to read!! My GR would say a lot more if I actually told it everything I read (scary).
    Books are a great addiction and diversion 🙂 or so I tell myself. (We authors have to encourage such addictions right, LOL)

    Fun GP

  6. It’s nice to get to know you, Carrie Ann! I really enjoyed the excerpt and wish I had even a fraction of the reading speed you do. 🙂

  7. That is an amazing number of reads! I would have to figure out a way to make money for that. lol. Most of the books I’ve been reading are actually unpublished manuscripts, I’ve read six of those this year, and read about the same number of published books. My goal is always to stay above the ‘one a week’ mark, so I’m right on track for the year. Nice to meet you!

  8. Well I did consider myself an avid reader until I read how many books you read! Great excerpt!

  9. Thanks Malia, Carrie and Jennifer. I work on a rotating shift at my job and I don’t have a lot of extra time to read. However, I do love to read and I enjoy all of the material that you all share. I try to seize each moment that I have an opportunity to read, but there never seems to be enough time. I do love to read your stories and I appreciate you sharing.
    Sincerely, Arthur

  10. I’ve read Carrie Ann’s An Alpha’s Path, and I guess I need to get in there and read the next ones too! Thanks for the great information, and for making me feel pitifully inadequate as a reader 😉

  11. I have no life y’all and can read a 350pg book in an hour. That’s why my book list is so big. The fact that y’all even read this blog proves that y’all are amazing readers LOL!

  12. I love to read. I just don’t get to do it as often as I like. Too bad it’s taking me so long to match my buying habits with my reading habits. I have thousands of books on my tbr pile. There are so many books I want to read, new worlds to explore. sigh…. I wish I could read faster. I can read a 400 page book in a day, maybe less. Yup, it takes me longer than an hour. lol Awesome skill, though!!

  13. I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for putting up.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

