The ABCs of Erotica

To be honest, I’ve been writing erotica for years, just not publishing it. I’ve always liked to write and at certain times penned a story for someone special in my life. In those instances, it was pretty much just shared between the two of us. In particular, if someone was travelling or we were doing a long distance thing for some reason, it was a way to be sexual when not physically together.

I’ve played around with doing more with my writing but never that seriously. I’d look at submission guidelines a couple times a year and continued to jot down my ideas.

Finally this year, I was inspired. I entered an erotic writing contest. I became a finalist and was pleasantly surprised. Though I ultimately didn’t win, it did show me I could put out a product that was appealing and readable. I became more serious about investigating publishing.

Then I was struck by the indie writing bug. I didn’t have to rely on a publishing company. I didn’t have to send something in and wait months for an answer. Don’t get me wrong I have nothing against traditional publishing. It’s more when I make up my mind to do something, I tend to be in a hurry. Now the deadlines that I set are my own. I’m writing with a purpose. It does feel different though. It is definitely work. I’ll keep you posted on my progress!

Comments on: "How I Got Started in Erotica" (1)

  1. Self publishing is like sex. Instant gratification. Who the heck wants to wait two years for an orgasm? Nah. (ha)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

